About the author

by James Batchelor

While taking a brief and mildly egotistical browse through Amazon, I noticed that my name under the listing for my writing group’s anthology linked to some other James Batchelor that writes books.

Now obviously my name’s not unique enough for me to expect to be the only James Batchelor with published fiction – particularly not in a world where absolutely anyone can release an e-book. But I’ll be damned if I’m letting this other Batchelor take credit for my work (to be fair, he may not want a children’s anthology associated with his adult historical fiction series).

So, I’ve just set up my own Amazon author page. All you have to do is go to AuthorCentral.amazon.co.uk and follow the various steps, including associating any books you’ve already published with your account. If you already have an Amazon account for shopping (and nowadays who doesn’t?), you can sign up with that, meaning you don’t have to worry about remembering yet another username and password.

It’s dead easy – suspiciously easy, in fact. I couldn’t help but wonder if I could just take credit for anyone’s books just by claiming I have the same name (why, yes, I’m almost Tom Clancy. How did you know, Amazon?). I’ve now correctly attributed the anthology to me, added a brief biography and a photo, and now I have a place to showcase all my published fiction to my adoring fans. Whenever I acquire them, of course.

It may seem a trivial, almost presumptuous step to do, but if I’m going to get books published, I should ensure there’s no one waiting in the wings to take credit. At the very least, there will be two more Writebulb anthologies on my page by this time next year and, who knows, maybe an e-book of my own.

Obviously, I’ll need to come up with a better headshot, write a more professional biography and, y’know, publish some work, but it’s hopefully laying a foundation.

It’s also a source of motivation. As with writing, if you’ve got a blank page, it’s impossible to resist filling it.

Leave a Reply

