Gingerbread Man by Maggie Shayne

by Carol Thomas

This was the best book I have read in a long while. I probably only finish 90% of the books I start as I get bored easily, but this one kept me hooked from the first page.

It is a tough subject to cover as it is about child abduction and murder but I thought it was well handled.

It starts with Detective Vince O’Malley looking for two missing children. When they are found murdered there is a clue at the scene that links it to the abduction of a child, Ivy, years before, who was snatched from her sister Holly’s grip on the way home from school. Vince goes to see Holly, who is still traumatised by the memories. She suffers from panic attacks and obsessive compulsive disorder as well as survivor’s guilt. Once she realises that the man serving time for Ivy’s murder is innocent and the real killer is watching her and her Mother she helps Vince to find him.

There are several twists in the story. One is obvious and I guessed early on but the other surprised me.

This book was a really cheap buy which is surprising for something so well written. I will definitely be reading more by this author.

Leave a Reply

